Spring 2018 Scholarship Winners Announced

Congratulations to the following outstanding students on their selection for our Spring 2018 scholarships!

The NWAF David Sankey Minority Scholarship in Meteorology

Renee Elder

Renee Elder is a graduate student at Arizona State University, working toward her doctorate degree in geography, with a focus in tropical hydro-climatology. Her research targets potential causes and impacts of moisture variability in the Caribbean region and surrounding land areas. She plans to collaborate directly with meteorological offices in the Caribbean, and hopes to support local socio-economic recovery, disaster mitigation, increased resilience, pragmatic decision-making, and possibly policy with her work. Overall, her research aims to better understand drought at both the regional and local scales. She anticipates completion of her Ph.D. in May 2020.

The NWAF Dr. Roderick A. Scofield Scholarship in Meteorology

Kyle Pittman

Kyle Pittman will be a Junior at Northern Illinois University in the Fall. He has returned to school after serving in the U.S. Army and several years of corporate experience. Inspired by the Plainfield, Illinois, tornado of 1990, Kyle hopes to become a research professor specializing in severe weather. His particular interests include tornadogenesis, mesocyclone development, mesoscale and synoptic analysis, and potential use of drone technology to collect data around thunderstorms. Kyle is studying Meteorology, with a minor in GIS. He will complete his bachelor's degree in 2020.

The NWAF Ken Reeves Memorial AccuWeather Undergraduate Scholarship in Meteorology

Sam Sangster

Sam Sangster is a Senior meteorology student at the University of South Alabama, minoring in both mathematics and music. He was a runner-up for the NWAF's Phillips Family Undergraduate Scholarship in Fall 2017, and has earned numerous other awards, inlcuding the Class of 2017 NOAA Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship and the University of South Alabama Presidential Scholarship. He has been named to the President's list each semester from Fall 2015 - Spring 2017, and was listed on the Dean's List for Fall 2017. Sam plans to continue his education after earning his bachelor's degree, and will pursue a Master's degree and possibly a Ph.D. He hopes to conduct research that will further understanding of meteorology and improve weather forecasting.

The NWAF Broadcast Meteorology Scholarship

Matthew Beckwith

Matthew Beckwith is a rising Senior at the University of Missouri - Columbia, majoring in Atmospheric Science. He is a previous recipient of a NWAF scholarship, having been awarded the Arthur C. Pike Scholarship in 2016. Matt is passionate about broadcasting, and cares about the impact he has on viewers. He is currently serving as a weekend weathercaster at KOMU-TV in Columbia, Missouri, where he has earned the trust and respect of his colleagues. Matt is an honors student, selected for the Dean's List in multiple semesters. He looks forward to parlaying his education and experience into a successful career as a broadcast meteorologist.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment